Spectacular 2011 AlaskaOne Spring TV Fundraiser launched!


11 poster signingThank you, all, for the spectacular launch of AlaskaOne’s annual Television Spring Fundraiser on Saturday, March 5th, when more than 200 posters were signed by the artist and given as thank-you gifts to generous supporters. Over $18,000 in gifts were made during the four hours of the poster-signing event featuring “Akpiks & Imuruk,” a painting by Nome artist Sue Steinacher on its 28th annual poster, held at Well Street Art Co. Browse photos of the event on our Facebook page or at the end of this article!

2011 posterMany thanks to River City Café and Espresso, for the baked goodies they contributed to make the event extra special. We also wish to thank volunteers Ashlee Breese, Dorrie Breese, Dona Brandle-Boylan, Tim Carrier, Rhonda Kitchens, Connie Page, Jeff Roach and Sue Sprinkle who eased the way for us, along with Well Street Art Co. staff David Mollett, Tobin Mollett, Colleen Thomas and Holly Winkleman.

The fundraiser runs through March 20th, and the poster is one of the thank-you gifts available for donors who support the mission of public television network in Alaska. You, too, can help maintain the excellent public television Alaska has come to enjoy, by giving from your heart – call, go online, or stop by our offices!

The painting which the poster is based on, a 40” x 29” oil on panel, was done for the 2010 Percent for Art program, and presently hangs in the Nome Youth Facility. The inspiration, Steinacher says, “was a scene on the road from Nome to Teller which crosses high rolling hills that in summer are often thick with ‘akpiks’ – the Inupiaq word for salmonberries or cloudberries. From one spot in particular, the extraordinary Imuruk Basin, tucked-up beneath below the north face of the Kigluaik Mountains, is just visible.”

This delightful piece was chosen by a panel of community artists and experts from over 110 pieces submitted by 44 Alaskan artists during an open call for art. This year’s dedicated selection committee members were: Dixon Jones, Mareca Guthrie, Da-ka-xeen Mehner, David Mollett, Sue Sprinkle, Carol Wilbur, Jinx Whitaker, and Douglas Yates.

AlaskaOne’s annual Television Spring Fundraiser runs through March 20, 2011, and pledges to AlaskaOne television can be made by calling 907-474-7491 or 1-800-393-8539.