Thanks to our volunteers – you are worth your weight in GOLD!


Thanks to our volunteers – you are worth your weight in GOLD!We enjoyed a big turnout and even bigger smiles at our annual Volunteer Appreciation on Tuesday, April 23rd, 2013. Big thanks to all who joined us, and to volunteers who couldn’t make it – YOU keep public broadcasting sustainable in Interior Alaska. Volunteers contributed over 4,000 hours last year, saving KUAC more than $87,000 worth of in-kind contributions, according to Independent Sector’s valuation of a volunteer’s hour in Alaska.

Congratulations to Andrew Quainton, the Spirit of KUAC award winner for 2013, posthumously.

Andrew Quainton

Andrew Quainton

Theresa Bakker accepted the award, on behalf of Andrew’s mother Cathy Quainton, and former award winner in 2005, Murray Richmond announced the winner.

Several nominations came in for Andrew, noting these highlights about his service to KUAC over many years:

Andrew was an outstanding ambassador for the mission, vision, and values of KUAC. His commitment went far beyond being a loyal listener and viewer. He served in many capacities, including as a member of the KUAC Community Advisory Council, judge for the Red Green River Regatta, volunteer administrator KUAC Facebook fan page, host at our Poster Signing events, and many roles with ther KUAC FM Fall Fundraisers. Andrew passionately supported KUAC Public Broadcasting with his time, talent and treasure over the past many years. First donating as a student at UAF in 2004 and volunteering to answer phones during KUAC’s FM Fall Fundraiser. He strengthened his engagement as he began “pitching” on-air and proclaiming his love for Opera while watching Sunday afternoon football or acting out the climactic scene of Turnandot with fellow Opera devotees… Andrew continued his passionate support by becoming a member of KUAC’s Art Buswell Society in 2010, a major donor society that recognizes donors who make annual gifts of $1,000 or more to support the public broadcasting mission in Alaska. Andrew was a relentless volunteer and he encouraged others to join him in giving to advance the KUAC mission. We were fortunate to share that enjoyment with him.

The Spirit of KUAC Award is presented at this event to a volunteer in recognition of exceptional service to KUAC. Open nominations were accepted this past month, and then forwarded to a selection committee of community members.

Previous Spirit of KUAC recipients:

  • 2004 – Leone Hatch
  • 2005 – Reverend Murray Richmond
  • 2006 – John “Alaska Jahn” Lysen
  • 2007 – Tim “T-Man” Sprout
  • 2008 – Lisa Sporleder
  • 2009 – Dave “Dr. Dave” Lacey (posthumously)
  • 2010 – Susie Hackett
  • 2011 – Ray Funk
  • 2012 – Tim Carrier

Thank you to the Spirit of KUAC selection committee:

  • Lisa Sporleder
  • Murray Richmond
  • Theresa Bakker
  • Sue Sprinkle
  • David James
  • Max Hanft
  • Pamm Hubbard
  • Merritt Helffrich

KUAC would not be able to meet our mission of creating radio and television programming that is thought-provoking, trustworthy and even life-changing WITHOUT volunteers. Volunteers are worth their weight in GOLD!

Thank you to Deb Lawton and Lisa Scerbak for providing photography, and to the youngest volunteers who worked the Polaroid camera to multiply the smiles and memories!

PHOTO ALBUM of the 2013 Volunteer Appreciation Event