Spirit of KUAC Award


Call for Nominations: Spirit of KUAC AwardThe Spirit of KUAC Award is presented annually to a volunteer for exceptional service.

Volunteers enhance our public broadcasting mission by serving in many roles, from radio program hosts, phone volunteers, and on-air talent during our fundraisers, to committee members who assist in fundraising, and hard-working folks who help out with special events, and outreach. KUAC relies heavily on hundreds of these dedicated community members, and we are pleased to be able to honor them.

Only one volunteer will win the award, but every volunteer whose name is entered will be honored by KUAC.

This award is presented at the KUAC Annual Volunteer Appreciation Event – held this year Wednesday, April 27th in the Great Hall of the UAF Fine Arts Complex from 5:00 – 6:30 p.m. Plan to join us as we honor you or an outstanding volunteer you know. The award-winner joins a pantheon of past recipients, including:

  • 2004 Leone Hatch
  • 2005 Murray Richmond
  • 2006 John “Alaska Jahn” Lysen
  • 2007 Tim “T-Man” Sprout
  • 2008 Lisa Sporleder
  • 2009 Davey Lacey (posthumously)
  • 2010 Susie Hackett
  • 2011 Ray Funk
  • 2012 Tim Carrier
  • 2013 Andrew Quainton (posthumously)
  • 2014 Pat Cole (posthumously)
  • 2015 Steve Hormann

Spirit of KUAC Award Eligibility

  1. Nominee must be a KUAC volunteer.
  2. Nominee’s accomplishments must exceed normal job responsibilities and/or demonstrate significant, consistent, and dependable performance within the past year.
  3. Nominee must embody the characteristics of the three key commitment areas of KUAC:


  • Communicates and supports KUAC’s mission, vision and values
  • Inspires pride in the organization
  • Helps to make positive changes within KUAC and the community


  • Demonstrates cooperation and teamwork in accomplishing results
  • Actively seeks and acts on ways to improve team effectiveness
  • Shows genuine concern for and encourages others


  • Demonstrates flexibility and adaptability to change
  • Exhibits initiative and recognizes the need for action
  • Practices continual learning and self development