2011 Spirit of KUAC winner: Ray Funk


The 2011 Spirit of KUAC Award recipient is RAY FUNK!

KUAC celebrated the hard work and dedication of its volunteers on Tuesday, April 26th, 2011 at the Annual Volunteer Appreciation Party. We are thankful for our dedicated volunteers, and are thrilled for the opportunity to express our appreciation for all they do. As volunteers enjoyed mingling with staff, family and friends, eating ice cream sundaes, and grooving to the sunny music of Pantheon Steel Drum band, photographers Deb Lawton and Lisa Scerbak caught some key moments. See the photos in the album below.

The Spirit of KUAC Award is presented at this event to a volunteer for his/her exceptional service to KUAC. Open nominations were accepted for 30 days and then forwarded to a selection committee of community members.

Previous Spirit of KUAC recipients:

  • 2004 – Leone Hatch
  • 2005 – Reverend Murray Richmond
  • 2006 – John “Alaska Jahn” Lysen
  • 2007 – Tim “T-Man” Sprout
  • 2008 – Lisa Sporleder
  • 2009 – Dave “Dr. Dave” Lacey (posthumously)
  • 2010 – usie Hackett

Congratulations to all of the 2010 Spirit of KUAC nominees:

  • Andrew Quainton
  • Ray Funk
  • Tim Carrier
  • Dorrie Breese
  • Steve Hormann

Thank you to the Spirit of KUAC selection committee:

  • Lloyd Huskey
  • Julie Estey
  • Jeff Roach
  • Lisa Sporleder
  • Murray Richmond
  • Robert Hannon
  • Leone Hatch
  • Susan McInnis
  • Susie Hackett

Comments from Ray Funk’s nominator, Trudy Heffernan:
Ray has been a radio show host for many years and shares his deep knowledge of roots music of all kinds. He produces a quality show week after week, called “Funk Roots.” Ray has supported KUAC for many years and contributes his knowledge of world music in the form of a quality radio show. Ray is always supportive of community events. He invites supporters of music onto his show. Ray keeps up with music of all types and travels to places to experience the music at its source.